100 Heighe Street · Bel Air, MD 21014 · 410-638-4600

The Bellarion

The Bellarion

The Bellarion

Michigan Trumps Washington in CFP National Championship   

Photo Credit: ESPN

Number 1 Seed Michigan took down Number 2 Seed Washington, giving coach Jim Harbaugh a well-deserved ending and the program’s 12th National Championship, first since 1997.  

The Michigan Wolverines started their season off on fire, holding opponents to under 20 points a game until they met their Big 10 rival, Ohio State. The game started off close all the way until the fourth quarter, when Kyle McCord (Ohio State QB) ended the game with an interception to secure Michigan’s win, 30-24.  

Michigan ended their regular season going undefeated and securing the Number 1 seed in the playoffs. The Wolverines played Number 4 Alabama in the Rose Bowl, winning in overtime 27-20, earning their spot in the national championship. 

The Washington Huskies, Number 2 seed in the playoffs, also had an undefeated regular season, including two major wins over Oregon, a team who barely missed the playoffs this season. They played the Texas Longhorns and won 37-31, punching their ticket to the national championship alongside Michigan. 

Story continues below advertisement

On Monday, January 8, 2024, Michigan showed up and sent the Huskies back to Washington, handling them 34-13, winning their first national championship since 1997.  

Even after the infamous Harbaugh investigation at the beginning of the season, including suspensions and controversy, it didn’t stop the Wolverines from overcoming the odds and expectations to secure the trophy. As the 4-team CFP format comes to a close and the new 12-team format emerges, Michigan’s run was a perfect way to cap off the era.